Not having a driver’s license can make it extremely difficult to handle everyday tasks that would normally be relatively simple. For example, taking public transportation to and from work or school each day may take significantly longer than it would if you could drive, and even just getting groceries from the store can turn into an even that takes hours and hours.
Here are some of the steps associated with getting your driver’s license back after a suspension. Importantly, an attorney can help along every step of the way and may even be able to help stop a potential suspension from taking effect. For more information, call our office today.
Determine the Cause of the Suspension
Your New Jersey driver’s license can be suspended for a number of reasons, including multiple traffic violations, driving without insurance, failing to pay parking tickets, or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DWI). Chances are that you know why your driver’s license was suspended, but if you do not, you should call the DMV to discuss the matter. It is important to learn why your license is suspended as the reason for the suspension will affect the steps you have to take to get it back.
Comply with any Requirements
Different reasons for suspension result in different steps that drivers must take in order to lift their suspension. For example, if you have had your license suspended for traffic violations, you may need to complete a driving course before you can have your license reinstated. Similarly, if you were arrested for drunk driving, you will likely need to obtain proof of completion of New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Program. These requirements must be completed before your license is reinstated, even if the period of your suspension has ended.
Pay the Restoration Fee
As with most things related to the government, there is a fee associated with restoring your license. The final step associated with getting your license back is paying the $100 reinstatement fee, which you can pay online, in person at a regional service center or a Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) that offers walk-in service, or by mail.
Call 856-795-9688 today for a free consultation.
If you have had your license suspended, you should speak with an attorney as soon as possible. New Jersey criminal defense lawyer Robert DePersia, II has over 25 years of experience practicing law in New Jersey courts and is committed to helping his clients move on with their lives. To schedule a free case evaluation, call our office today at 865-795-9688 or send us an email through our online contact form.