DUI Attorney

Driving Under Influence of Alcohol

In New Jersey, driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious traffic offense that can lead to imprisonment, fines, license suspension and hefty insurance surcharges. If you have been cited for DUI you need the assistance of an experience DUI attorney. Robert E. DePersia, II has over 25 years of experience in DUI defense and will confidently handle your case throughout the litigation process. He will explain to you your offense, the legal repercussions of a DUI, and the legal process after a DUI offense.
Get A Free Consultation

N.J.S.A 39: 4-50 prohíbe a cualquier persona operar un vehículo motorizado con una concentración de alcohol en sangre (BAC) de .08% o más. Una persona también tiene prohibido operar un vehículo bajo la influencia de drogas ilícitas. Si el conductor del vehículo motorizado está bajo la influencia y también es menor de edad, el estado aplica una Política de Tolerancia Cero. Esta política para infractores menores de edad prohíbe que cualquier persona menor de la edad legal para beber (21 años) conduzca un vehículo con un BAC de .02 o mayor. Para determinar su concentración de alcohol en la sangre, NJ emplea el uso de una prueba de aliento, análisis de orina, muestra de sangre y / o una prueba estándar de sobriedad de campo.


Driving While Intoxicated in NJ

First Time DUI Offenders

If this is your first DUI offense and your BAC was determined to be between .08% – .099% you will be facing a mandatory 3 month license suspension, fines ranging from $800-$1000 plus $1000 surcharge for three years, and a possible prison term of 30 days. Offenders charged with a BAC of .10% or higher are exposed to more severe consequences including a mandatory 7 month license suspension, fines ranging for $950-$1150 plus a $1000 surcharge for 3 years and the possibility of 30 days in jail.

DUI Second Offense

Second time DUI offenders will face the same surcharges as a first time offender, however, the fines are increased with the exact amount left to the discretion of the judge. Additionally, second time offenders are required to serve 30 days of community service (6 hours per day), there is a mandatory jail sentence of 2-90 days (sometimes time spent in and IDRC program is acceptable), you will lose your driver’s license for 2 years, and you will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device.

Driving While Intoxicated

DUI Third Offense

Those charged for a third DUI offense in New Jersey will again face the $1000 surcharge for 3 years as well as enhanced penalties. Fines will range from $950-$1150, your license will be revoked for 10 years, and at the judges discretion, you may face 180 days in prison. Third time DUI offenders must also install an ignition interlock device in all of their vehicles during the 10 year suspension and for 1-3 years after your license has been restored. Failure to have an ignition interlock installed when ordered by a judge could result in an additional one year suspensión del privilegio de conducir..

Regardless of the number of times you have been charged with DUI, you need the assistance of an experienced defense attorney to protect your rights. Robert E. DePersia, II may be able to argue the validity of the tests done by police, but time is of the essence. Call today for a free consultation and defend your rights and freedom (856) 795-9688.